Expedition Exchange Bulletin Boards  

Go Back   Expedition Exchange Bulletin Boards > Technical Discussions
User Name
Password
FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 11th, 2005, 01:37 PM
stansell
 
Posts: n/a
Oops

So, there I was, hooking up the switches in the dash up to the relays to power my Hella's and oops...

I was tapping off the leads going to the dimmer switch for power and grounded the positive lead which blew the circuit. Problem is, I can't find the fuse that the dimmer switch comes off of and all of the interior fuses are good.

So the question is, does anyone know where the fuse for the dimmer switch is? Any insight, leads or ideas would be appreciated. I am guessing that the fuse might be inline with the circuit, since there are no blown fuses I can find in the fuse box, but I could be way out to lunch.

99 DII

Last edited by stansell : February 11th, 2005 at 02:39 PM. Reason: more info
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 11th, 2005, 03:01 PM
traveltoad traveltoad is offline
Aaron Shrier
KI6BCA
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: San Fernando Valley
Posts: 2,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by stansell
So, there I was, hooking up the switches in the dash up to the relays to power my Hella's and oops...

I was tapping off the leads going to the dimmer switch for power and grounded the positive lead which blew the circuit. Problem is, I can't find the fuse that the dimmer switch comes off of and all of the interior fuses are good.

So the question is, does anyone know where the fuse for the dimmer switch is? Any insight, leads or ideas would be appreciated. I am guessing that the fuse might be inline with the circuit, since there are no blown fuses I can find in the fuse box, but I could be way out to lunch.

99 DII

You have already checked the interior light fuse in the fuse box?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 11th, 2005, 03:04 PM
avick avick is offline
Andrew Vick
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aspen
Posts: 24
The dimmer for the headlamps?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 11th, 2005, 03:27 PM
stansell
 
Posts: n/a
This is the dimmer switch for the console lights (instrument cluster lights). I checked all of the fuses inside interior fuse cabinet and they all had continuity. I then rechecked fuse 13 (which I think is the fuse associated with the instrument cluster lights) and it was fine. I have been troubleshooting this int he daylight, but as far as I can tell, the lights in the instrument cluster are not coming on, nor is there power coming to the dimmer switch.

Does anyone know if fusible link 13 is the correct fuse. Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 11th, 2005, 03:37 PM
avick avick is offline
Andrew Vick
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aspen
Posts: 24
Check the 20amp fuses in the engine bay fuse block. I think it's 13 in there as well.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 11th, 2005, 03:42 PM
avick avick is offline
Andrew Vick
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aspen
Posts: 24
I can get the wiring diagrams if you'd like.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 11th, 2005, 03:50 PM
stansell
 
Posts: n/a
avick,
I checked out the engine bay fuse block, no luck. No numbering on the fuse block, but both 20A fuses were fine. I also checked the continuity on the rest of the fuses (hoping for a lucky break, but no luck.

I am convinced this is a fuse problem, but I am rapidly running out of fuses to check. Maybe i'll go and check the interior fuses again in the daylight to make sure I didn't miss one.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 11th, 2005, 04:06 PM
stansell
 
Posts: n/a
woohoo,

after checking with the "CD that has no name", it lead me to fuse 33, which sure enough is blown.

Now, off to landrover for a new fuse.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 11th, 2005, 05:27 PM
Snwbord24
 
Posts: n/a
wow Rob, you finially completed a project without me being over there. Of course 5 or 6 phone calls probably helped out a little.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old February 12th, 2005, 05:18 PM
stansell
 
Posts: n/a
Shane,
your jealousy over my 'new' lighting system can only be expressed by false bravado and cutting remarks. Seriously, thanks Ho and John for the help, it works flawlessly and looks completely stock. It is certainly nice to be able to operate the work lamps and auxillary lighting independent of the headlamps (in clear violation of several state laws I am sure). So many upgrades, so little allowance (from the wife).

John or Ho,
If you recall, the lights I have now are what I think are called 'catseye' hellas, same shape as the FF300 but smaller. I have lighting envy, but really like the shape of the catseyes due to their distinctive shape and how they match the contours of the rover(and I want to keep the 'stock' look as much as possible). How do the FF300's compare to the FF400's?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old February 13th, 2005, 07:02 AM
v22guy
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by stansell
woohoo,

after checking with the "CD that has no name", it lead me to fuse 33, which sure enough is blown.

Interesting, that CD has saved my ass many times
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Land Rover Extraordinary In Action Tour johnlee General 18 August 15th, 2006 01:26 PM
August 2005 Snap-on Customer Appreciation Day johnlee Trips / Events / Reports 7 August 16th, 2005 02:26 PM
Car, not truck, choices $20k ronward General 66 July 9th, 2004 01:25 AM
Rear Bumper stansell Technical Discussions 16 May 17th, 2004 07:50 PM
Connector box location for Han's Cobra CB install? cwdavis4 Technical Discussions 14 April 28th, 2004 07:15 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:05 PM.




Copyright 2001-2012 Expedition Exchange Incorporated. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.